Monday, February 28, 2011

Things I'm Totally Into Right Now

Things I'm Totally Into Right Now
with your host, Miss Mezz

1. Eating individually wrapped slices of Kraft cheese from the fridge. So classy, I can hardly stand it.

2. Watching episodes of Frasier on my laptop in bed as I fall asleep at night. It's comforting in a way that actual human interaction will never-- could never-- be. Oh, Daphne.

3. The new Adele album which is really my only reason for living except for also maybe #1 of this list.

4. Reading magazines cover to cover as quickly as possible while listening to Pandora via the TiVo and passing judgment on Pandora's choices for me.

5. Fantasizing about my own personal grotto that is filled with, depending on the day, cold Coca-Cola or fruit punch flavored Kool-Aid. But usually Coke. In these fantasies, I execute a perfect dive from a high cliff into the sparkling pool.

~

Saturday, February 19, 2011

i ♥ tv

So, Dirty Dancing is on TV. Well obviously I have to watch until Patrick Swayze tells Jerry Orbach that nobody puts Baby in a corner and they dance at the end now. Even though I own it on DVD and have watched it on TV a bajillion times. In the meantime, guess I'll blog.

So, over Christmas (I think) my sister and I came up with a list of our favorite television moments. I think I'll share.

Top 10 TV Moments
by Rix and Trix

1. "Sydney, you've been missing for two years." (Alias)
2. Veronica and Logan kiss on the balcony (Veronica Mars)
3. Monica and Rachel lose the apartment to Joey and Chandler (Friends)
4. The finale of "Pier Pressure" ... it all comes together (Arrested Development)
5. "Two Cathedrals." Nuff said. (This might honestly be the greatest moment in television ever for me.) (The West Wing)
6. The Christmas episode warms hearts all over Hollywood. (Studio 60)
7. Marian almost dies in the cave and Robin Hood gets all emotional (Robin Hood (BBC version obvs))
8. Miranda's mother dies and Carrie goes to the funeral (Sex and the City)
9. Pam gives her speech during "Beach Games" (The Office)
10. "They Shoot Gilmores, Don't They?" - the end of the dance marathon (Gilmore Girls)

~

Monday, January 17, 2011

internet annoyances

I've noticed that even if you delete an entry from a blog, it still appears on your Google Reader. I pretty much hate this. I guess it's helpful if you want to rescue old entries, but knowing that if I delete something here and someone already has me on Google Reader, it doesn't matter, kind of sucks.

But then, I guess that's the chance you take with the internet!

Anyway, if you saw the video I posted, well, shucks, I was just trying to do something for my HIMYM roleplay group and accidentally posted it to the wrong blog. Sigh. Oh, the dangers of the internet...

Back to my day off now!

~

Monday, January 10, 2011

one of those days

So, today was the day I was supposed to get back on track-- go to the gym, eat well, all that good stuff.

Then I had an irritating, though minor, fight with my boyfriend. Now the last thing I want to do is have to go sweat. I'd rather drive home and sulk on the couch with a bag of potato chips.

I guess the question is-- am I just making excuses? I'd probably feel better if I went and worked it out at the gym. But sometimes I just can't face fighting cars for a parking spot just to do something that quite frankly I'm not enjoying very much lately.

Talk about a negative attitude today. Maybe I'll check in tomorrow with a sunny disposition. Just call me Little Orphan Annie.

~

Sunday, January 2, 2011

combating the sunday night blues

Do you ever get the Sunday Night Blues? I've noticed within the past couple months that whenever I mention to someone that I have it, in return I get an understanding or empathetic look. I suppose it's a universal thing to mourn the passing of a killer weekend, or in this case, a killer vacation, and face the coming work week.

I feel like it's gotten worse with me lately. It's something I talk with my counselor about from time to time (oh yes... have I mentioned that I'm in therapy? It's only fitting, right? Now that I'm in the "real world" if we insist on calling it that...) and I've learned to deal with it. In the past I've wasted entire Sundays staring mournfully out the window and weeping intermittently. I wish I was joking. But I've been doing a little better with these outbursts of emotion lately.

But coming back from an extended weekend or eleven days of holiday time is about fifty times harder. Especially when you've been away and have to physically make your way back. However, I did a few things to try to ease my weepiness today:

1. Took up my friend Angela's last minute offer to go see The Fighter. I got to see Marky Mark beat the shit out of some guys and then make out with Amy Adams-- that is, Marky Mark did, not me-- so that was pretty cool.

2. I bought some cinnamon crunch bagels at Panera for breakfast the next few days. If that won't get me to roll out of bed in the morning, I don't know what will.

But just to make extra sure that I keep my spirits up this Sunday eve, I might just eat one of those bagels now.

So long, holiday break. You'll be missed.

~

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

a better me(zz)

I've had the opportunities to better myself. I grew up in a nice home with a nice family. I got to go to college, and then got to go to graduate school. I worked hard to find a job, and ended up with something that isn't my career choice but pays the bills and keeps me in a pretty cushy environment (with health insurance) for now. And I've had lots of awesome friends along the way.

So sometimes it's hard to keep things in perspective. When my life gets a little out of whack, I have this tendency to fling myself on my bed and say, "O, WOE is I! Why are things not perfect?" as I toss bon bons into my mouth by the dozen.

All right, I'm more of a potato chips girl than bon bon girl, but as you can see, I do seem to over-dramatize.

If my social life isn't what I want it to be, why don't I change that? I could branch out, bit by bit. (I wish there were a sure-fire way to make more friends post-college, but I'll have to accept that there really isn't.)

If I want to be more accomplished, why don't I change that as well? I could read more books, and actually, you know, write. Why don't I write anymore? Except for in my journal, that is. And that's mostly talk about how Josh Groban and I are MFEO and how my work life is really getting in the way of my online roleplaying.

I looked back at my list of books read this year, and I really didn't care for what I saw-- which was essentially... not much. As of now, I read fewer than 20 books in 2010. Granted, this is more than some people read in their whole lives, but I come from a mother who reads a book a day-- consistently. And it's definitely the least I've read in many years. 2011, you will be better. For now, I'm devouring as many books as I can (mostly nonfiction) in December.

I also got my boyfriend to start reading Harry Potter, which is a literary success all on its own.

But back to this whole over-dramatization thing. I seem to let little setbacks define me entire day, week, or month. I go on Twitter and write about how terribly my morning started off, just because my windshield wiper popped off and refused to re-attach when the windchill was -2. Granted, that wasn't fun, but it doesn't have to define my whole day.

As for the larger setbacks, I don't have to let those define me either. Today, I'm going to ignore the stubborn scale, and go to the gym. Tonight, I'm going to ignore how empty my fridge is and find something tasty to whip up without complaining that I can't afford something better. I'm not going to check my email a thousand times waiting for something amazing to happen in my social life. I'm going to accept it how it is, and move forward.

Today my friend Jason said to me, "I know it's cliche and lame, but people grow apart sometimes." And I will probably have to accept that. Without throwing myself onto my bed dramatically.

This all sounds well and good, doesn't it? "All right, Mezzie! Get out there and make it better!" But my attitude isn't going to change overnight. I think it's going to have to be more about accepting the things I cannot change... you know the rest.

Love,
Mezz

~

Monday, December 6, 2010

merry and bright

All's fair in love and war, and this is a bit of both.
~ Ron Weasley, HP and the Deathly Hallows


Well, kids, it's my favorite month, and favorite time, of the whole year. I've got to wonder why I can't seem to get this thrilled about any other season, but hell, ya just can't beat Christmas. And you know, Hannakuh, and Yule, and all that good stuff. Honestly, I should be crying about my financial status right now (and maybe I will later, I've penciled it into my schedule), but mostly I'm just excited about being almost done with my Christmas shopping.

There was a time when I bought Christmas presents for all of my friends... back in high school and for awhile, in college too. How the heck did I manage that? This year I'm only buying for my parents, my brother, my sister, my boyfriend, and my cousin Emily (which I usually just go in on with my sister). Oh, and of course the obligatory Secret Santa at work, which should only cost $5 plus a few $1 gifts (hello, Dollar Tree). All in all, well under $100. Granted, that's still enough to make me wonder how I'm going to afford any of it, but... okay, I just realized this has become quite a long paragraph about money, and it's boring. The point is, Christmas shopping is fun-- I can't help enjoying giving and receiving.

My true gift this year is that things are getting shaken up at work, and I think it's going to be great. Plus, today I was handed an assignment that will have me writing articles about what the people in my department do. It will require some research and lots of talks with the psychometricians who work here, but it's a vote of confidence in me, and that's fantastic.

Plus, my new cube-mate will be a research assistant who only works 20 hours a week (and who really has no authority or, I assume, interest in what I do), so I'm pretty psyched about having a little more privacy around here.

Have I mentioned that my brother has mono? He had a terrible sore throat and some nausea over Thanksgiving, and he was having what we thought were pains from the kidney stone (his ninth!) that hasn’t dropped from his kidney yet—but those turned out to be liver/spleen pains from the mono, as was everything else. My dad drove to IC and picked him up because he was so sick by Tuesday he couldn’t drive himself. He has to finish his classes from home… major suck. He has more ailments than anyone I've ever known. Sprained ankles, food poisoning, appendicitis, chronic kidney stones, mono... you name it, he's had it.

Let's see, what else is new. As of December 1, I've been with the boyfriend for one year. Never had an anniversary before, but from what I can tell (seeing HP7 again and then talking about it for another two hours), they're my kind of thing. We had a very cozy weekend-- not only did the world get to wake up to a winter wonderland, on Saturday, we watched Christmas Vacation, Scrooged, and The Santa Clause, baked cookies, and went Christmas shopping at the mall plus two separate bookstores. I intend to make every weekend in December this fabulous!

Time to pack in and get ready to hit the gym. If I'm going to keep partaking in all these fabulous Christmas treats, I've got to burn some cals somehow. Christmas workout list, here I come!

Love,
Mezz

~